The Reckoner Trilogy, Book 2


MONSTERS: The Reckoner, Book 2

SKU: 978-1-55379-748-7

Category: Young Adult Novel


Cole Harper is struggling to settle into life in Wounded Sky First Nation. He may have stopped a serial killer, but the trouble is far from over. A creature lurks in the shadows of Blackwood Forest, the health clinic is on lockdown by a mysterious organization, and long-held secrets threaten to bubble to the surface. Can Cole learn the truth about his father’s death? Why won’t Choch give him a straight answer? Where the heck is Jayne? Oh, and high school sucks.

Monsters is the second novel in The Reckoner, a series by David Alexander Robertson, award–winning writer and author of HighWater Press’ acclaimed children’s book When We Were Alone.

When Cole finally confronts the Blackwood Forest monster, and the circumstances surrounding it are explained, everything becomes so clear in retrospect that you can almost hear Choch chuckling in the background. After an intense third act, the spirit guide pops up yet again, this time with a lingering promise that is sure to have readers excited for Ghosts, the final instalment of the series.

—Nyala Ali, Winnipeg Free Press






  • media
  • videocasts
  • workshops